Wednesday, 31. December 2003
Something Vincent Likes

We had to rush into town by noon so Sweetiepie could pay a bill and save himself several dollars in late charges. We wanted to go see Vincent for a few minutes but it was lunchtime so we went to a restaurant ourselves and waited 45 minutes for our food to be served. Then his fries were cold, so he was not happy.

My spring rolls were great. Mm.

Vincent was in his bed when we got to his room, after stopping in the community living room to chat with Sweetiepie's aunt and several other residents and a woman vacuuming. She and I went to school together in my home town.

Finally I've discovered something I can do for Vincent.

"Those cookies you sent in," he told me, "were the best thing I have ever tasted."

Those were whipped shortbread, and Sweetiepie dropped them off just before Christmas along with some CDs we had doubles of and thought he'd like: Fleetwood Mac, Rumours, and Jeff Healy's See the Light. He was listening to that last one when we knocked on his door.

"He seems a little depressed," I said as we were leaving, "both today and last time we visited."

"Yeah," Sweetiepie said, "I think you're right."

"Then I'm not imagining it."

"No. It must be hard around the holidays, when a lot of the residents are gone home and he's stuck here."

Next we're off to my sister's, where Handyman is going to finish up some details on the new countertop he installed for her before Christmas. She invited us for supper, and we'll feast and then come home to drink and feast some more.

We've bought rice thins and antipasto, gouda cheese and clamato juice, spicy sausage and oysters, herbed french bread and chocolate. Two movies are on the roster: Ocean's Eleven and The Lord of the Rings, the first one.

It's looking to me like an appealing way to spend New Year's Eve.

I hope yours is every bit as satisfying as ours promises to be.

xoxoetc
Kate

 
online for 7950 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher