Thursday, 30. January 2003
Love that stinky water

Thursday

A tub of Saskatchewan water is waiting, steaming, for my flesh and bones.

The water in this area has a lot of minerals in it, often iron. When we came here this summer and the water hadn’t been run for many months, it was almost black and literally stunk from laying in the pipes and waterlines. Once they were flushed out, the water became normal again.

If the water around here is normal, that is. I always enjoyed staying in hotels in the city because the water was so clear, and I thought of that as clean. Now I know better, of course -- that the water there is so full of chlorine and crap that it’s probably suffocating skin cells as I lay in it.

After being here for four months, I don’t notice the water anymore. But the other day I got a whiff, and it took me right back to the summer days when we were here on vacation and being in this house was new to me. It’s the way water smelled when I was growing up -- the way water looked -- it had a reddish-brown tinge and an earthy smell.

Unfortunately the sparkles in the snow did not show up when I took this picture. It’s just where our driveway joins into the main driveway that goes over to the big house.

 
online for 7940 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher