Sunday, 14. December 2008
Sat 13 Dec 2008


Leithe, Scott's aunt (sorry Leithe, this photo doesn't do you justice); Ann and her daughter Carla, our hosts; and Pat, my mother-in-law

The temperature is supposed to dip down to 40 below, tonight, with the wind chill. I have been home for an hour but will have to venture out tomorrow at noon. It's Christmas Dinner at the seniors' lodge and my two sons are Grandma's special guests.

Scott dropped off some supplies with her today and found her with her winter coat on, about to go out for a walk. He told her not to go anywhere. She seemed to think she didn't live at the lodge, so he tried to find someone to keep an eye on her and make sure she stayed in, but had no luck. Just getting over strep throat himself, he didn't feel too good about wandering around a seniors' residence and spreading his germs, so came home. I was unable to reach any of the home care aides who are there during the day, but did alert the kitchen staff, who weren't too concerned because "Your grandmother is right here in the kitchen watching us, and she doesn't have her coat on." I called when I got home and she's safe and sound tonight, in her room getting ready for bed.

The Likeminded Ladies (this is a nickname I came up with shortly after being invited to join the group of friends who meet regularly to dance naked around a bonfire and cast spells)(just kidding, but what was I supposed to tell Scott when he asked what we do together for five or six hours at a time? that we sit and talk and laugh? he'd never believe it)(but please, said he, don't tell me this; i don't want to picture my mother and my aunt that way) gathered for a potluck supper in Kelvington. Not everyone was there but a small bunch of us had a pleasant visit and a delicious meal. Then we headed out on the road, which we bumped down with tires frozen flat on the bottom. Or that's what it felt like anyway.


To receive an email when I update, enter your address here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Site Meter

 
online for 7946 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher