Friday, 12. December 2008
Thurs 11 Dec 2008


chilled, fevered, waiting for doctor

10 pm

Been on the go basically all day. Took Scott to the hospital emergency room in town right after the boys caught the schoolbus. He hadn't slept all night, had a fever and was having trouble catching his breath, and ... asked me to take him to the doctor before my eyes were even open in the morning.

I would like to brag that I did not say "I told you so" out loud, regarding my ignored advice yesterday that he forget about the god damn cattle and look after his health instead. I'd like to brag that I, wise and noble, had the self-discipline to only think it (real loud). But alas, I am both outspoken and self-righteous, the worst combination.

Got home around 11 after picking up a prescription and stopping at the post office. Did breakfast dishes and warmed up leftovers for lunch, then put a frozen chicken into the oven and mixed up a hashbrown casserole for supper before leaving for town again to do some running around before the meeting with the palliative care team. Then picked Everett up, dropped him off at home and went to Margo for supper with the group. Stopped in for a quick visit with Bruce and Shirley, then swung by Karen’s but she was in town for choir practice and decorating the hall for their carol fest on Sunday. Chatted with Dick while I filled two water jugs for cooking, and came home, only to be sent over to Golden Grain Farm to bring firewood home before we run out. The fevered boy, who can’t get warm, wasn't having that! I filled the hot water bottle for him and he toddled off back to bed.

Apparently it is very cold out there today and getting colder, though I have to say it doesn’t seem too bad to me. I wore my mink coat and ski pants -- the height of fashion -- hee! -- but warm.

Yesterday afternoon Everett came in from feeding dogs and cats and birds, and told us how a chickadee had landed on his hand and taken seed out of it. How cool is that?! I told him, awed, “You are a very special person.” I know that of all wild birds that might be unafraid of humans, it is the chickadee that is the most fearless for its size, but still … they don't come to just anyone, do they?

Well whatever. I still think my boy is special. So there. It's a fact that birds have always liked him.


To receive an email when I update, enter your address here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Site Meter

 
online for 7943 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher