Monday, 24. November 2008
Grey Cup Sunday

Up at 9, thanks to a mug of hot coffee handed to me before Scott left for Golden Grain Farm.
His buddy Rick was coming over to help blow insulation into the attic. Yesterday Scott was prepping for this and when I was on my way over to take him a thermos of hot tea mid afternoon, I found him next door having a visit with his sister and brother. So I took the tea in there instead, and drove over to our new place afterward.
After putting on a disposable pair of white coveralls, Scott began climbing up and down a ladder outside the wall. My part would be to hand the insulation up to him. I hadn’t realized that I’d be standing in the snow (had assumed he was entering the attic from indoors) and said I’d have to go home and put on winter boots, and would be right back. Scott said “I can do it. How about you go to town and get me some beer, and make supper?” No argument from me, especially since Emil has come down with a cold and we had run out of ColdFX. I had refused to run all the way to town “just” to stock up on that, since we had echinacea extract in the fridge, but this gave me more of an excuse. After picking up a few groceries while I was there I didn’t stop at Grandma’s, since it was shortly after 5, her supper time.

I expected the two hard workers around 1 o’clock for lunch, so stuck a ham into the oven and threw together a hashbrown casserole. Pulled the last of Shelly’s apple pies out of the deep freeze for dessert, and Everett made a batch of cookies, his usual weekend baking for school lunches. A caesar salad was the finishing touch. Or no, perhaps chilling their beer mugs was the touch that put me into their good books, in case the hot meal didn't do it.

And that's life in the fast lane.

* Uncle Bruce was released from hospital on Friday morning and all reports are good.


To receive an email when I update, enter your address here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Site Meter

 
online for 7948 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher