Monday, 8. January 2007
The Robber Truck

Monday 8 Jan 2007
9:24 a.m.

Scott and I made a trip to North Battleford yesterday afternoon to meet Gord and Everett and bring the latter home from his Christmas holiday at his dad's. We rendezvoused at the usual place, a hotel on the highway just outside the small city. Scott noticed this truck in the parking lot, with its headlights covered by little balaclavas.

It was after 7 by the time we pulled into our yard. We had a bite to eat, the boys had baths, and then we descended to our living room so they could open their Christmas gifts -- Emil's from family in Edmonton, and Everett's from family here.

Everett is not happy to be back, he says. Life would be so much better at his dad's. I imagine the day will come when he'll lobby even more vehemently for moving there. But unless the kid is finished school, I expect any such move to occur over my dead and putrid body.

I know I have to let him go someday, but it isn't this soon. He's in Grade 9 and I have only another three years left for him to live with me. I don't intend to be shorted any more of that time than is absolutely required for visits to his dad. Call me selfish if you like; I'll admit, these kids are the best thing I've ever done and I will be a sad and forlorn momma when the time comes for them to move away. Only three more years! And how quickly the time is passing!

 
online for 7954 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher