Wednesday, 7. December 2005
All Growed Up

Wed 7 Dec 2005
10:07 a.m.

The first blue sky we’ve had in days. It’s definitely winter; the plugging-in of vehicles has begun. My ski pants need to be dug out. Not that I am any closer to owning a pair of cross-country skis ... I’ve done nothing in that direction ... cannot even remember when I last went out for a walk. Seems I’ve been busy indoors or running here and there... a Christmas party, a birthday party, that trip to the city last week ....


~ waiting patiently for doctor ~

Emil’s visit to the orthopedic clinic was his last one. After this, he will attend adult clinics and only if there is a need, not for regular checkups. According to his hip and foot x-rays, he has finished growing. “What you see now is what you’re going to get,” the orthopedic surgeon said. His left foot sticks out rather sideways, but “it’s working for him” so she thought it should be left alone. No surgery required this year, and not since he was six. Probably never again.

For three hours before we left the city, he pushed our cart around the mall, needing to sit and rest only a few short times while I got some Christmas shopping done. Along the highway we stopped for a bucket of KFC to bring home for supper. He told me several times throughout the two days we were away that he likes it when “just you and me” go places.


~ about halfway home from Saskatoon ~

The next thing to deal with is his legal coming-of-age. When he turns 18 in June, my guardianship needs to be extended beyond his childhood years. A doctor sent me home with a thick pile of Saskatchewan statutes to read so I will know what’s going on and what to do to get it all in order.

For today, that gentle blue sky is calling me out.


Join my notify list and get an email when I update:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 
online for 7961 Days
last updated: 5/11/14, 8:03 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
June
recent
Intuitive Counselling through Tarot
I've been a tarot card reader since 1984. The cards tell...
by Kate (5/11/14, 8:03 PM)
Why Anaïs Nin? I'm no
Anaïs Nin, but she indulged in writing her diaries till...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:53 PM)
Grandpa's Shop
Loverboy and I are supposed to reshingle Grandpa’s shop, where he kept all...
by Kate (5/11/14, 7:51 PM)
One of my Favourite CDs
  Go HERE and click on "Play on RDIO." Sign in...
by Kate (2/8/14, 9:24 PM)
What's My Story?
I live on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada with my sweetheart. Between...
by Kate (2/4/14, 12:33 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher